The VRHL has a winner: the Melbourne RHC

2014 Team VRHL Champs

After an intense season of hockey, the Victoria Roller Hockey League had its Grand Final on Saturday the 6th of September. The Melbourne Roller Hockey Club became the champions for a second year in a row, after winning 7-3 against a really strong Mordialloc 1. The Melbourne RHC has now won the past 3 major competitions, which includes Australia Day Cup.

The final was intense, high paced, and well played by both teams, a number of technical goals were scored. An inspired Ricardo Atraca lead Melbourne to the victory with 3 goals. The match started with Melbourne taking the lead 4-1, seeing it reduced to 4-3 at the start of the second half. Slowly, Melbourne increased the advantage until the final score became 7-3 result. Both teams proved themselves and showed good improvement over the past 12months and at this point in time are the 2 best teams in Victoria.

The Mikey Emmett trophy, awarded to the champion, was handed by Cathy and Stephen Emmett who also attended the match. Melbourne skipper Cameron Boehm, had some emotional words:


“All the guys knew that this game was more than a hockey game. Receiving this trophy is what this team has been fighting so hard for. We worked really hard during the season and we deserve it. We thank our sponsors as without them we may not have achieved this great result. We look forward to the 2015 season continuing to grow this great roller hockey club”

With the Victorian Season over, its time to wish good luck to all of the players in next year’s edition.